At the beginning of your precombat main phase, add
to your mana pool for each charge counter on Altar of Shadows.
target creature. Then put a charge counter on Altar of Shadows.
Regler omkring kortet.701.6
To destroy a permanent, move it from the battlefield to its owner’s graveyard.701.6b
The only ways a permanent can be destroyed are as a result of an effect that uses the word “destroy” or as a result of the state-based actions that check for lethal damage (see rule 704.5g) or damage from a source with deathtouch (see rule 704.5h). If a permanent is put into its owner’s graveyard for any other reason, it hasn’t been “destroyed.”701.6c
A regeneration effect replaces a destruction event. See rule 701.12, “Regenerate.”